Tags

, , ,

IMG-20150711-02842

On the day of Mother Dearest’s Memorial service, Kevin gave me several dozen red roses and I put some of them in a vase on my bedside table, beneath a portrait of Marilyn hanging on my wall [one of many].

Naturally I took photos of my beautiful blooms with a view to brag about them on Facebook. I can’t remember if I ever did, but I was going through pics on my phone last night and I came across the above pic.

I didn’t notice it at the time, but MM is clearly shedding a tear.

MM Crying

Mother Dearest passed away on the 9th of July 2015; and on the 9th of July 53 years prior, MM gave her very final interview. Less than a month later she was dead.

Co-incidence? I think not. Some would think this quite creepy, but strangely I find so much comfort in the [irrational I know – no need to remind me] thought that MM too was mourning for Mother Dearest, as I certainly cried a river of tears that morning.

RIP MOTHER AND MARILYN

[I’m sure what happened is that I spilled water on the canvas when placing the vase down and perhaps the watermark wasn’t visible at the time – at least to the naked eye, but the camera certainly picked it up.]


No one ever told me that grief felt so like fear.
~ C.S. Lewis


My feet will want to walk to where you are sleeping but I shall go on living.
~ Pablo Neruda


The darker the night, the brighter the stars, The deeper the grief, the closer is God!
~ Fyodor Dostoyevsky


Give sorrow words; the grief that does not speak knits up the o-er wrought heart and bids it break.
~ William Shakespeare


In sorrow we must go, but not in despair. Behold! we are not bound for ever to the circles of the world, and beyond them is more than memory.
~ J.R.R. Tolkien