Tags

, , ,

Commitment-Quotes-31

I am still reminded several times a day how loved, appreciated and wanted I am. And if you think the declarations of adoration are beginning to wear thin, you’d be sorely mistaken. I can’t get enough of the regular affection and attention, the motivational emails and romantic texts.

I love you so much, I really want to spend the rest of my life with you… I am so emotional now… I have a tear rolling down my face landing in your rose bed so you will always bloom remarkable flowers… I love you… X x x x x x

Sigh – he always says the right thing at the right time, and if hadn’t the validation of his existence from friends and family, even I would think I’ve made him in my rather vivid imagination, based on the scores of chick flicks I’ve watched.

But thankfully, he’s real. Very very real. As real as the rings on our fingers.

IMG-20150716-03007

Now before you inundate me with messages of congratulations, I should quickly point out that we are not married, nor are we engaged.

Whilst on our recent Promise Holiday [and I promise to post pics promptly]; atop a mountain at sunrise, we exchanged rings with promises of our commitment to each other.

The only reason this ceremony is not classified as an engagement, is our kids, as they still feel it’s too soon for us to be engaged. We obviously have no such qualms or hesitations, hence declaring vows to each other and exchanging rings.

But as far as Angel, Star and Kayla are concerned, they are Promise Rings and we are committed to one day becoming engaged.

Semantics. But if it keep the kids happy, we will oblige. The bonus for me is that in time I will still receive an engagement ring. Hehehe. In the interim I will wear my Promise Ring with pride and a reminder of how dearly I am loved.


If we commit ourselves to one person for life, this is not, as many people think, a rejection of freedom; rather, it demands the courage to move into all the risks of freedom, and the risk of love which is permanent; into that love which is not possession but participation.
~ Madeleine L’Engle


Unless commitment is made, there are only promises and hopes; but no plans.
~ Peter F. Drucker


Without commitment, you cannot have depth in anything, whether it’s a relationship, a business or a hobby.
~ Neil Strauss


Until  one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness.
~ William Hutchison Murray


To fall in love and to commit yourself to love means you should make your loved one the one thing you cherish the most.
~ Kou Yoneda


