Tags

My Angel

I am so grateful to my Angel, who truly is an angel. Whilst I have been impersonating an invalid for the past 19 days, she has kindly been playing Mom; cooking when I literally cannot stand to be in the kitchen, and waiting on me hand and foot. After my nightly hot baths she rubs my back, butt and neck with Moov and then assists in strapping me into my heat pad before tucking me into bed, ensuring I have a fresh glass of water and painkillers on the bed stand.

As if that doesn’t warm the hardening cockles of my heart, Madam had her honours assembly at school yesterday and once again she was awarded for being in the top ten in Grade five for academics. Based on the number of children in her grade and her position in the top ten; she is actually in the top 5%.

But it doesn’t end there. With Angel’s father’s recent near death experience with diabetes, we have insisted that she play a sport at school every term as she doesn’t get any form of exercise. Whilst she doesn’t have a weight problem, we will take all preventative measures to ensure she doesn’t get diabetes, and becoming active is step one.

So last week my Babaloo tried out for the hockey team, and despite having never played the sport before, she was accepted onto the team! That will keep her busy two afternoons a week with practices and matches, and fortunately it doesn’t clash with her choir practices, which are also twice a week. Busy busy bee!

On that [musical] note, Angel has been elected as one of the participants to represent the school at an eisteddfod in a few weeks time. She’s not all that thrilled on the song choices [it’s hardly Glee] but I reminded her that once she is a rock star, she will have full and final say on her musical repertoire.

Thank you my Angel for taking such good care of Mommy and thank you for always giving 150% to everything you do. I always say I couldn’t be prouder, and then you prove me wrong. I love you my Baba, more than words could ever say.

Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.

~ Marcel Proust ~

~/ā™„\~