Tags

, ,

Back to Birthday Weekend.

On Saturday morning we were all up bright and early, as Kevin was taking Kayla to visit a friend in their neighbourhood, and I was meeting with a friend of Angel’s mother and a bunch of kids to assist them with a school project.

And believe it or not, Kayla made her bed without being told. Yay, progress!

I also had to fetch a few kids from a secure estate nearby, as well as drop them off afterwards, and knowing that security protocol has the guards checking the boots of all vehicles, we “hid” one of the girls in the boot whilst waiting our turn at the gate, with strict instructions to look dead.

Pity we couldn’t hold our laughter in, as it was very obvious to the security guard that something was fishy with a car full of girls giggling hysterically. Still, he had a good laugh too when he opened my boot to a non-moving teenage girl.

We had a restful afternoon, with Kevin and I spending most of it sitting in the garden chatting and attempting to reconnect – which we successfully did. But not before I let go my built-up resentment from the previous week.

Yup, I really struggle to let go of issues and I can hold a grudge tighter than Gollum with The Ring.

Late afternoon Angel wanted to go the mall as she had to fetch something [I knew it was related to my birthday present, but didn’t let on that I knew]. Kevin didn’t come with us as he had to go fetch Kayla, so I had an hour alone to window shop.

Which was the intention, until I walked into Pick n Pay clothing. All good intentions flew out the window when I saw that they stocked short playsuits. I’ve desperately been looking for a set, so I didn’t hesitate to grab a handful of sizes and try them on until I found the perfect fit.

Happy with my pending purchase, I made my way to the counter when I was distracted by the sight of brown boots hiding under a table.

I had searched the whole of winter for a pair of brown boots. Not to say I haven’t come across brown boots; but they’re either too high, too low, too dark, too light, too pointy, too rounded. I knew what I wanted, but hadn’t seen anything close to my vision … until Saturday!

I decided to leave it up to fate. The chances of having a size 3 when shoes are on the racks are slim to none; the chances of finding my size among a few pairs of shoes discarded after the season are about a million to one [trust me].

I could see several very large boots, and lifting them out found them to be size 7 and 8 respectively.

I dropped them and picked up a tangled trio and found two to be a size 4. I could work with that! With a few pairs of socks to buffer the feet and prevent them from slipping out – no problem.

With my mind make up I untangled the third shoe and out of curiosity turn it around.

Size 3.

Oh my god!

I dropped to my hands and knees and not caring that my short red dress was creeping precariously high up my thighs, I hunted between the remaining galoshes for the boots mate.

Found it!

My slip-slops were slipped off and the boots slid on. Perfect fit!

My newfound excited was quickly extinguished when I looked at the price. R399. Now I know that is a reasonable price for a pair of high good quality boots, but being the penny-pincher I am, I squirmed all the way to the till.

The sales assistant rang up my purchases and when I saw R199 being rung up, I quickly told the guy to halt as the price tag of the playsuit was R159, NOT R199. He reviewed the monitor in front of him and pointed out that it wasn’t the playsuit that cost R199, it was the boots.

They were on sale for half price – but for reasons unknown to me, weren’t marked as such. Bargain!

Now all I was missing was a pair of white high heeled go-go boots that I recently saw at the flea market but had no money at the time to purchase.

Angel and I returned home after our mutually satisfying shopping experiences, and Kevin and Kayla weren’t far behind us.

We spent a relaxing family night in the lounge watching movies together, in anticipation of the big birthday the next day!


No decision should be made on an empty shopping bag.
~ Donita K. Paul


Women usually love what they buy, yet hate two-thirds of what is in their closets.
~ Mignon McLaughlin


The odds of going to the store for a loaf of bread and coming out with only a loaf of bread are three billion to one.
~ Erma Bombeck


When I shop, the world gets better, and the world is better, but then it’s not, and I need to do it again. (Confessions of a Shopaholic-the movie)
~ Sophie Kinsella


Buy what you don’t have yet, or what you really want, which can be mixed with what you already own. Buy only because something excites you, not just for the simple act of shopping
~ Karl Lagerfeld


