Tags

, ,

man-woman-bed

My birthday weekend got off to a bit of a rocky start, with two arguments with Kevin [no prizes for guessing the subject] being narrowly averted.

The first occurred when I was making chicken prego rolls for our dinner. He had forgotten that I don’t eat margarine, and so put the already-buttered roll aside stating that Kayla could have it later.

“Love, then wrap it back in plastic and put in the bread bin, because it’s going to be hard and stale by the morning.”

“Morning? I meant for dinner tonight.”

“Dinner tonight? Didn’t you feed Kayla before you took her to Scouts this evening? You can’t feed a child at 10 o’clock at night Kevin!”

“She’s not hungry at 5pm when we leave.”

“Then either drop her off at Scouts later, or at least make her a sandwich or something to take to eat before Scouts! Seriously Kevin, she can’t wait til after 10 at night to eat – that’s so unhealthy – and no wonder she can’t sleep – because her food hasn’t digested.”

Scouts only starts at 19h30, but she gets to the hall at 17h30 to spend time with the boyfriend, as I’m sure I’ve previously stated. I only drop Angel off at 19h00 and I ensure that she has eaten before hand, for reasons given above.

Anyway, I left it at that because it was the first time we’d seen each other since Wednesday’s tête-à-tête and I wanted us to return to being the sickeningly in love couple we were until a week previously.

We went to fetch the girls at 22h00 and on the way home Kevin stopped off at the garage to buy cigarettes. As he was getting out the car, he asked the girls what they wanted. Instead of giving him their shopping list, they asked to go inside with him.

He asked me if I wanted anything, and I just glared at him with icy eyes, instead of blowing the gasket boiling within me.

Really? After the almost-argument we just had about feeding your daughter late at night, you’re going to buy the kids sweets??? Food at that time is bad enough, but sweets – oh my god, you’ve got to be kidding me! Don’t you bloody listen???

I said nothing all the way home and climbed straight into bed and ignored his advances when he joined me after his last smoke for the night. I even wore a onesie to bed to make it even more difficult for him to attempt any approaches of a sexual nature.

ACCESS DENIED


Sleep ’til you’re hungry, eat ’til you’re sleepy.
~ Unknown


As a child my family’s menu consisted of two choices: take it or leave it.
~ Buddy Hackett


Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie.
~ Jim Davis


Anybody who believes that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach flunked geography.
~ Robert Byrne


Nothing would be more tiresome than eating and drinking if God had not made them a pleasure as well as a necessity.
~ Voltaire

