Tags

, , ,

Sad Woman PhoneWell things have gone from bad to worst, without even making a stop at worse.

I was so proud and pleased that we had got this far into our relationship without so much a hiccup; 122 days of pure bliss and love, and within a blink of the eye we’ve had our first fight and are not talking to each other.

Yesterday morning Kevin left my place in a bad mood, because he was late. The reason he left late was because I told him that the girls were not leaving for school until Angel’s bedroom was tidy and the beds made. I had told them this on Sunday night and they assured me they’d get up early to clean up.

Kayla and Angel go to school at different times, because Kevin drops his daughter off early on his way to work so that she can spend time with her boyfriend; whereas I take Angel to school 45 minutes later.

I have on many an occasion offered to take Kayla to school as it’s next door to Angel’s school, but she is very insistent on going very early, for reasons explained above.

Nevertheless, when the girls didn’t get up earlier as promised yesterday, I wasn’t perturbed as there’s was plenty of time for them to get ready, clean up and get to school without inconveniencing Kevin, as he could have left at his usual time, with me taking the girls later, and still on time for school.

Oh and the reason I was so adamant about the girls [note the plural] tidying up was because Kayla NEVER makes her bed when staying at my place. She wakes up in the morning, gets dressed and leaves; with a wake of blankets, pillows and duvets in her wake.

Angel then faces my wrath as I expect her to keep her room neat and tidy and so if Kayla doesn’t clean up after herself, it’s left for Angel to do. Not fair at all, but Kayla’s attitude is that she doesn’t have to make her own bed at home so why should she have to do it at my place.

Not only does she not make her own bed, but she doesn’t do any chores whatsoever at her place. Kevin’s reasoning being that they have a full time maid so she doesn’t have to do anything, whereas I only have a helper once a week. That being said, even if I had full time help I would insist that the kids have responsibilities in the house, not least of all maintaining their bedrooms.

As it stands, Star is responsible to wash dishes during the week, and does laundry [washing, hanging up, folding and packing away] over the weekend; and Angel does the laundry over the weekend [with my assistance] and cooking during the week when I have meetings in the evening. On top of that, they have to make their own beds and keep their bedrooms tidy at all times; and clean up after themselves in the bathroom.

Anyway, back to Monday morning. Kevin wanted to leave and I asked if Kayla had made her bed yet. I asked him to check as I was in the bathroom getting ready myself. Turns out she hadn’t made the bed, so instead of insisting that she do it herself and then go to school later with me, he did it for her, because her going to school with me at a reasonable time is not acceptable because she won’t have an hour with her boyfriend [this is another issue for another time].

Not long after he left, Kevin sent me a text:

Happy anniversy my love… X x x x x

And I responded.

♥ Happy ♥ Anniversary ♥ I ♥ Love ♥ You ♥

Not our wordiest texts, not by a long shot, but he was driving at the time, and I was getting ready for work, so it’s understandable that we didn’t take advantage of every character available.

He usually sends me an email when he arrives at work [which is his “other” home], with inspirational and motivational messages and pictures for the day, however yesterday I received nothing. I thought nothing of it, assuming he was really busy at work.

Just after 10h00 I received a phone call from Kevin and he explained that the reason he hadn’t emailed me was because the phone line had been suspended due to non-payment and obviously the internet works off the phone line.

His dad, who attends to the payment of bills, had been sent out to Telkom in order to make payment and so Kevin couldn’t do any work until such a time as it was sorted.  I suggested that he use the time to finish his book and he agreed that it was a brilliant idea, since he had the time to do so.

We ended the calls with “I love you’s” and “speak to you later” and as far as I was aware, everything between us was as perfect as always. I thought nothing of the morning’s irritations, as Monday Morning’s are notorious for being blue.

Missing him a while later, I sent a loving message, however I didn’t receive a response. Missing him even more a few hours later, I sent another romantic text, which was responded to with what I’m assuming was supposed to be an equally loving message, but due to predictive text and/or not concentrating, it didn’t make much sense.

The afternoon came and went, and I heard nothing from Kevin whatsoever. No emails, so I assumed the phone line was still off; and no texts – which was very unlike him. Especially knowing he wasn’t busy with work and therefore certainly had the time to text, should he wish to.

By early evening I was getting concerned at not hearing from him, so I sent a text:

18:51 – Hi Love, hope the rest of your afternoon went well. Angie came round for her cake and she showed us the pics from her weekend – looked fun. XxXxX

No response.

20:03 – Why so quiet?

No response.

21:19 – Ok, well I don’t know why you’re not talking to me, on our anniversary of all days. Going to bed now. G’Night. XxX

No response.

Naturally I couldn’t sleep, and after several hours of watching Girls in an attempt to keep my mind from wondering and thinking the worst; I finally fell asleep at around 01h00. However I tossed and turned, and awoke every 30 minutes or so to check my phone for any messages.

By 04h00 I was wide awake and checked my phone.

Still no messages or missed calls.

Not having any airtime on my phone [I live on BIS and an SMS bundle] I checked if I had enough MTN points to convert into airtime. Just enough for R5 airtime, sufficient to make a phone call.

At 05:06 I called Kevin

WTF Texts and Phone Calls


Tears are words that need to be written.
~ Paulo Coelho


Nothing can cure the soul but the senses, just as nothing can cure the senses but the soul.
~ Oscar Wilde


I can’t eat and I can’t sleep. I’m not doing well in terms of being a functional human, you know?
~ Ned Vizzini


Any fool can be happy. It takes a man with real heart to make beauty out of the stuff that makes us weep.
~ Clive Barker


Every man has his secret sorrows which the world knows not; and often times we call a man cold when he is only sad.
~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow


Sigh no more, ladies, sigh no more,
Men were deceivers ever,-
One foot in sea and one on shore,
To one thing constant never.

~ William Shakespeare


