Tags

, ,

Interview-image

I went for an interview this afternoon at the company where I sent my CV last week. I was quite impressed with their prompt response, having received an email invitation on Friday to meet with the Operations Manager today.

The interview went exceptionally well, and I seem to be exactly what they are looking for; a Jack of all trades and master of none.

That being said, she was quite impressed that I used to train television presenters and wanted to know whether I’d consider training their call center staff in communication skills should I get the job. What a question! I’d jump through hoops for the salary they’re offering!

I’m either very poorly paid, or they are so desperate for someone to head the administration arm of the company that they’ll entice applicants with big bucks. I’m going to go with the former.

Did I mention that during my recent unsuccessful increase negotiations, the HR woman told me to go out there and find my worth, because I’m very disillusioned as to how much I should be earning.

[besides the fact that I’m earning R10,000 less than I was 10 years ago whilst working for Satan.]

So besides the relief at earning a decent salary and working for a company with growth potential; being offered this position will also grant me the opportunity to hold the following conversation in Karma.

Hi Boss Lady. Remember when HR told me to go found out what I’m worth.

Hmm.

Well I did. And it seems that I’m worth twice what you’re paying me.

Oh. You can’t be serious. No-one would pay you that.

Tell you what BL. I’ll send you a copy of my payslip at the end of October. M’kay?

%#@$& Nooooooo, don’t leave me! I’ve just fired your assistant* and two accounts staff resigned last month!

The Ops Manager will let me know early next week if I’ve made it to the next round of interviews, which will be conducted via Skype with the CEO who resides in Canada. That will be a mission on it’s own, as my laptop doesn’t work for anything other than playing movies, and I don’t have internet at home.

But my knight in shining armour a.k.a. My Love said that he would come to my rescue, and would come over with his laptop at the appointed time. Gotta love that man.

What I like most about the position is that it has no formal structure at the moment and I can make it my own, putting in policies and procedures for the company and clients to adhere to. There will be no-one looking over my should nor telling me what to do or how to do it. Yes please.

* Poor guy doesn’t know what’s coming at the end of month. He’s on a fixed term contract which expires at the end of September, and he’ll be advised at the end of August that it won’t be renewed. Additional motivation for me not to stick around.


Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.
~ Confucius


I like work: it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours.
~ Jerome K. Jerome


Be steady and well-ordered in your life so that you can be fierce and original in your work.
~ Gustave Flaubert


Without ambition one starts nothing. Without work one finishes nothing. The prize will not be sent to you. You have to win it.
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson


The human race is a monotonous affair. Most people spend the greatest part of their time working in order to live, and what little freedom remains so fills them with fear that they seek out any and every means to be rid of it.
~ Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


