Tags

Picnic

I can’t believe how difficult it is finding something to do to celebrate Non Working Day Workers Day in Joburg tomorrow. You’d think there’s be a universal website whereby you enter the date and location and out pops up lots of idea of what to do and where to go.

Not so. There are hundreds of websites – most of which are so outdated. It’s 2014, not 1994 webmasters! The sites that are current suggest I go to museums, art exhibitions or nightclubs. If I see one more notice for the Apartheid Museum I’m going to go postal.

I want to spend the day outdoors in what’s left of our waning sunshine, without having to drive a hundred kilometers getting there or spending a hundred bucks getting in.

I considered going to The Park; but when the dodgy people in the hood tell you that’s it’s a no go zone, you tend to heed their warning. It’s still a beautiful spot, but I’m not all that keen on spending my day off with various vagrants. I might as well be in the office.

I thought of heading to Gillooly’s Farm, but the last time I was there it was so full of happy families and that depressed me so much I almost swung from a weeping willow and drowned myself in the dirty dam. However it remains on the maybe list.

One of our attorneys has since notified me that there’s a nature reserve a few kay’s from me. Say what? How did I not know this? I’ve just been on their website and it actually looks like a lovely place to have a little picnic. The entrance fee is only R30 for adults and 15 bucks for kids, so it won’t break the bank either.

I’ve asked Angel to come with me, but of course she won’t leave home without a side-kick or two; so at this rate it’s not going to be the cheap outing I’ve [not] budgeted for. I could always hide them in the boot of Feisty Fiesta and tell the brats to bring their own food. *plotting*

I plan to pack Angel’s Disney Princess sleeping bag [it’s not red and white checked, but I’m sure I’ll be forgiven], a soft pillow for my weary head, an unread book [note to self: pay a visit to Hospice shop after work], a straw hat to protect my face from further freckles, a few Smirnoff Black Ice [Storm has been replaced], and I’ll pay a visit to Food Lover’s Market this evening for my proposed feast, and yes it will include hot stuff.

Sorted!

No, it is not only our fate but our business to lose innocence, and once we have lost that, it is futile to attempt a picnic in Eden
~ Elizabeth Bowen ~

