Tags

,

black-red-gothic--0003

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

Thank you Charlie – you describe the tale of my life so succinctly – just a pity mine only take place in a lone town. How much more fun it would be if there were a second city. With plenty of sex and shenanigans.

The long weekend held much promise; on Thursday afternoon Mimi declared that we were going out to paint the town red. Dinner at one establishment, followed by drinks and good music at a second; all courtesy of a friend of her husbands. [Who had moved out that afternoon and stated that he was not returning until [N] was no longer living there.]

I was not concerned with the living arrangements between Mimi and Barry as I honestly cannot keep up with the musical beds; however I was excited at the thought of getting all dolled up [I haven't been out since The First Date Last Supper] and devouring an unlimited supply of sushi on someone else’s account. You say shallow, I say hungry.

However, by 19h00 that evening the plans were still up in the air with hubby’s friends wanting us to dine in Sandton. Since I would be driving, and drinking and thereafter driving again; heading out North to the home of many a roadblock [and there were two that night] was not an option. I spent much of the last Easter weekend at [not in, but still] jail so I wasn’t about to tempt fate.

The guys offered to fetch us, however I was not prepared to be chauffeured by someone I don’t know. Call me paranoid, but I like to personally know the person behind the wheel with me in the vehicle.  Their final offer was to pay for Mimi and I to stay at their hotel. Hahahaha. Nice try boys, but I am far too cynical to fall for the “you ladies will get your own room” line.

Mimi and I decided to take a rain check, and plans were put on hold for the following evening, whereby the gentleman would head East to our side of town, and we would make our own way to the various venues. Nevertheless I was disappointed at the postponement as I really needed an opportunity to let my hair down.

The following morning I seriously let my hair down. And myself in the process.  Stuck in my dark mood, I decided that my hair should match. I won’t be posting pictures because it looks boring and bland and makes me feel dull and old. I shall remain camera shy until such a time as the blonde is back.

After doing my hair, I gave myself a facial and spent much of the day pampering myself in preparation for the evenings activities. I couldn’t care less about the company – chances are I wasn’t going to chat much to the hosts; I was there for the food and drink and opportunity to leave the house and my bad mood.

In the late afternoon I send Mimi a message asking how her day had been. I didn’t want to seem too desperate about us going out, but the excitement was building and I wanted to know our estimated time of departure so that I could plan my wardrobe. Oh who am I kidding, my outfit [black leggings with black and red faded jersey and black boots] had already been lovingly adorned on my freshly scrubbed body.

Harmony: Hey Mimi, how has your day been?

Mimi: In Far East Rand Town. Brought the kids, And how is your day?

Harmony:  I had a nice pamper day … had a facial, recoloured my hair darker … got dressed up … did laundry … now watching DVD’s.

Mimi: Oh nice!! My friend from Namibia is calling and wants me to go to Sandton. I don’t have petrol anyway.

[oh, so now it's your friend wanting you to go. Where's the us? Where's the we? What happened to the arrangements for dinner in our town???]

Mimi: Did you see the Pope’s status, I was wondering what he up to.

[way to change the subject, friend; throw your son in the mix.]

Harmony: Lemme see what it says.

Mimi: Can’t you see it??

[I don't exactly check up on his status every few minutes!]

LIAM: I just can’t help but feel you, the way I use to

Harmony: Ah, seems he is still crying over his ex.

Mimi: I told Friend I don’t have petrol, so I am waiting.

Mimi: But why is he using the profile picture you sent him?

Harmony: Can’t he come out this side?

Mimi: I asked him

Harmony: Probably because he wants a pic of Drake and if he puts a pic of Drake up by himself it will look odd.

Harmony:  What did he say?

Mimi: To come, so I’m waiting.

Mimi:I’m waiting

Harmony: What time are you coming back?

Mimi: Not too late. Waiting for Roger [her other son] to pick me up. Will let you know.

Mimi: Friend said we must go tomorrow. We will arrange in the morning

Harmony: Yeah we must arrange early cos I’ll need to make a plan with Angel.

Mimi: Ok. *kisses.

And we all know how much I luuuurv plans changing at the last minute, especially when I’m already in such a great mood. Nevermind that I was already all dressed up and ready to go.

[censored]