Daily Prompt: Breaking the Law

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?


Ten-Commandments-Hebrew

Oh wow! Where does one even start? The truth of the matter is I’m not much one for following the rules as dictated by government, society or fairytale books.  Not to say I am some law-breaking moral-less cowgirl, I am merely guided by my own internal moral compass [which is often out of order].

So, do you want an alphabetical list of my transgressions or should I go accordingly the Ten Commandments?

Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

I don’t have one particular god or goddess.  Personally I’m fond of quite a few from various religions; however I see myself as a part of them all, rather than them being a separate entity – and they’re all equal in my eyes.

Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image

Is this about my Buddha statues or Marilyn paraphernalia? Either way, they’re there to stay and if you don’t like it, do not enter my bedroom or look at my altar.

Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain

My bad.

Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

I show houses on a Sunday – will I go to hell?

Honour thy father and thy mother

Amen to this, it comes down to respect. And may the gods and goddesses help my children if they don’t heed this too!

Thou shalt not kill

Of course even I am in agreement with this one, and in that vein I am also vehemently against the death penalty. [so do not ever forward me a petition in support of murder. Perhaps one day when there is absolutely nothing exciting in my life to report on, I shall expand further on this subject.]

Thou shalt not commit adultery

Er, um. This used to be my number One commandment. I’ve been the wronged woman and I even jumped on my high horse and wrote a scathing letter to a ‘friend’ calling her out on her antics.  And then what did I go and do last year? Yup, fell in love with a married man.  It broke my heart, my faith and my integrity. So I would have to say that out of all my rule breaking – this will go down in history as mea maxima culpa – and I have still not recovered from the guilt and regret.

Thou shalt not steal

Again I am in agreement here. Please see Though Shalt Not Covet below.

Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour

Is this just referring to lying [which is wrong wrong wrong, the truth always comes out] or gossiping too? Because let’s be honest, my blog would be very dull without relaying the antics of my neighbours.

Thou shalt not covet

As for No Coveting Thy Neighbours Big Screen TV – I really don’t see the problem here, and personally I do envy many people of many things. Both in terms of their possessions as well as if they’re living the life I don’t have [husband, 2.5 kids, dog, picket fence etc etc]. However am I about to relieve them of their property? Nope. I’m very against theft, but I won’t deny to hankering after their goods.